Things To Do Around Tumut
Situated on Boonderoo Road (off the Snowy Mountain Highway to the south of town), this small winery is open for tastings and cellar door sales most weekends and at other times by arrangement, tel: (02) 6947 2060.Bonnie B’s Shaker Shed
This eccentric collection of over 3000 salt and pepper shakers can be seen by groups or coach groups for an individual entry fee of $2. Located 2.5 km from the main street via the Snowy Mountains Highway (just across Currawong Rd) they are open most days from 10.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m., tel: (02) 6947 2060.Blowering Dam
Take the Snowy Mountains Highway out of town, heading towards Cooma and follow the signs to the Blowering Dam. The journey is 12 km. The dam is impressive with the wall being over 120 metres high. It has the second largest storage capacity in the whole Snowy Mountains project. The dam was the site where the world’s longest water-ski run occurred when someone kept going for 1673 km. It also became the location of the world water-ski record when Ken Warby travelled across it on skis at 510.45 km/hour in 1978.Yarrangobilly Caves
Located in the northern end of the Kosciuszko National Park, the Yarrangobilly Caves are set inside the deep gorges and rugged bluffs of the Yarrangobilly River Valley.
Forming over thousands of years, this string of limestone caves features many stunning decorations, including delicate shawls, grand columns, underground pools, and awesome chambers.
Yarrangobilly also has a natural thermal pool which is a constant 27 degrees celsius, so bring your bathers as well as your walking shoes.
Guided and Self-guided tours are available daily, and special torchlight tours can be arranged by request.
Snowy Mountains Trout Farm
Located below the Blowering Dam wall, the trout farm, touted as NSW’s largest, is open daily from 9.00 a.m. to 3.00 p.m. for fish sales. Self-guided tours are available on weekends for a small fee, tel: (02) 6947 3612.
In 1909 the Aborigines Protection Act became law in New South Wales. One of its conditions was to establish a certain number of ‘reserves’ or ‘stations’ for Aborigines which were run by white managers. These managers had enormous control over the Aboriginal residents on their ‘reserves’. They inspected their houses for cleanliness, controlled the amount of alcohol coming into the reserve, and could send children away to be institutionalised if they felt the parents were not capable of looking after them.
Brungle was one of the first ‘reserves’ under this plan and as many of the older Aborigines remember quite clearly the manager was such a monster they all headed off within months of his arrival. Other Aborigines were brought in from outlying regions but when the offending manager was moved the original inhabitants moved back to the reserve. Consequently the community, largely known because of the considerable talents of the Bulger and Penrith families, is an active Wiradjuri community.
The Road to Canberra
The fastest way from Tumut to Canberra is via Gundagai and the Hume Highway. The most interesting route is across the mountains via Brindabella. While this road is perfectly adequate for conventional vehicles in dry weather it is not advised in wet weather or after an extended period of wet weather. There is a fairly substantial stretch of dirt road characterised by clay soil which can become difficult. Otherwise the journey is characterised by beautiful scenery and it is an opportunity to experience the isolation which was such a feature of Miles Franklin’s ‘My Brilliant Career’.
The Tumut River and its tributaries, particularly the Goobragandra, are known throughout Australia as some of the best trout fishing in the country. The brown and rainbow trout are regarded as the great challenges and fly fishermen come to the area to try their luck. The Blowering Dam is now well stocked with cod, yellowbelly and trout but it is the small streams which present the greatest challenge.
There are a large number of tracks in the area many of which are now part of the Hume and Hovell Walking Track. The most impressive is the 18 km Thomas Boyd Track which crosses valleys on swing bridges. Information about the tracks, including detailed topographical maps, can be obtained from the Tumut Visitors Centre, tel: (02) 6947 7025.
Festival of the Falling Leaf
There is a widely accepted view that autumn in Tumut offers the most spectacular display of ‘colours’ anywhere in New South Wales. In the 1950s the local headmaster, Alf Woods, instituted the idea of a Festival to celebrate the arrival of autumn and the falling leaves which characterised the town’s many parks and gardens. It has become a hugely popular event and is held each year in April-May. Contact (02) 6947 7025 for more information.
Visitors can view the 3 p.m. milking at this dairy on Tumut Plains Rd, tel: (02) 6947 1905.
Air Escape offer powered hang glider flights from Tumut Aerodrome on Brungle Road. They operate daily and offer a trial introductory half-hour flight, tel: (0418) 278 012 or (02) 6947 1159.
Rides in an old English carriage can be arranged along country roads or through the town. Ring (02) 6947 9071 for more information.
When the fruit is in season, visitors can come and pick their own fruit seven days a week. It is located on West Gilmore Road, tel: (02) 6947 5206.
Tumorrama Fire Tower Lookout
Just past Bondo, on the Wee Jasper Road (off Bombowlee Creek Rd), the tower offers fabulous views across the valley.
Sporting Supplies and Instruction
Selwyn Snow and Water, on Fitzroy St, supply winter and summer sports equipment, both for hire and purchase, tel: (02) 6947 6225. Anglers might try Bake’s One-Stop Fishing Tackle Store (02 6947 1965), on Adelong Rd, or Tumut Fishing and Outdoors Store, on Wynyard St (02 6947 1100) for tackle, guided tours and coaching.
Find out more information from
Tumut Visitor Information Centre
or call 02 6947 7025
Practical yet strikingly beautiful, you’ll be nothing less than impressed. Make your booking at the Monarch today.